Guide to purchasing your first firearm in Maryland
In Maryland Most Firearms Will Be Defined In One Of Two Ways: Regulated Or Non-Regulated.
- Regulated firearms will consist of all handguns/pistols.
- Non-regulated firearms consist of all long guns. This includes shotguns and rifles with a barrel length of 16 inches or longer.
Purchasing A Non-Regulated Firearm:
When purchasing a non-regulated you will go through a couple of steps.
- First you will fill out an ATF form 4473 in the store.
- We will take that form and your license and run a background check through the NICS system.
- You will receive one of the results: Approved, Delayed, or Denied
- Approved – You will pay for your long gun and can leave the store with it.
- Delayed – There are a number of reasons that you can be delayed. You will receive a “Brady Date.” What that means is that if you do not hear from us before that date, which is typically 3-5 business days, you can come pick up your long gun. You will still pay for your long gun before you leave the store.
- Denied – If you are denied, you are then considered a “prohibited person.” You will not be allowed to handle or purchase firearms or utilize the range until you submit a voluntary appeal and receive an “overturned” decision.
Purchasing A Regulated Firearm
Maryland Handgun Qualification License (Hql)
After the passing of the Firearm Safety Act of 2013 (FSA 2013), which went into effect October 1, 2013, a Handgun Qualification License (HQL) is required to purchase all regulated firearms. Maryland’s HQL page can be found by clicking HERE.
Obtaining your HQL and Purchasing a Regulated Firearm:
- Sign up for an upcoming HQL Course with our trainer JW Firearms
- In this course you will have your fingerprints taken and you will complete your HQL application and submit it to Maryland State police.
- You will also learn about safe firearm handling, use of force requirements, transportation, Maryland state-specific laws, firearm maintenance, and different types of ammunition.
- For a list of exemptions please visit the Maryland State Police Website by clicking HERE.
- After obtaining your HQL you can begin to fill out the Maryland Online 77r form in the Maryland State Police portal which can be accessed HERE. This can be done at home or in the store.
- PLEASE NOTE: Filling this form out only creates an application that is submitted to an “application pool.” These applications do not expire.
- The next form you will fill out is the ATF Form 4473 which is a paper form and must be completed in the store and on the day that you submit your 77r to the MSP.
- You will be required to pay a $10 application fee directly to the state police. That must be paid before the application is fully submitted.
- Then you will need to wait 7 days, (8 if a federal holiday falls within the 7 days) until you are able to take the handgun home with you.
Purchasing A Firearm
What do I need to bring with me when purchasing a firearm or completing paperwork?
To make the process as streamlined as possible, please bring the following documents when you plan to purchase or transfer a regulated firearm:
- Maryland Handgun Qualification License
- Valid driver’s license or other government-issued ID
- Change of address card, if necessary
- Military or police ID, if necessary